Going abroad: study semester

International experience will increase your chances on the labour market, not just due to language skills acquired but in particular as a result of the additional soft skills you will gain - key qualifications such as tolerance, flexibility and intercultural competence. For many students, a stay abroad during a degree course is a crucial step towards greater independence.

Get a sense of what it is like to be in a new setting, far away from your familiar study and living environment.

Make the most of the opportunities THI provides you to spent parts of your degree course in a foreign country. THI continuously expands its offer by fostering relations to universities, companies, institutions and organisations abroad.

The International Office will be glad to support you in preparing for your stay abroad. It is very important to plan your journey thoroughly - and be sure to take the initiative and be fully committed when doing so.

On the following pages you will find all the practical and helpful information you need - a full step-by-step planning guide to your stay abroad.

Wege ins Ausland: Studium

Internationale Erfahrungen erhöhen Ihre Chancen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt nicht allein aufgrund der im Ausland erworbenen guten Fremdsprachenkenntnisse, sondern vor allem durch die zusätzlich gewonnenen „Softskills“, Schlüssel-Qualifikationen wie Selbstständigkeit, Toleranz, Flexibilität und interkulturelle Kompetenz. Ein Auslandsaufenthalt während des Studiums ist für viele Studierende ein wichtiger Schritt zu mehr Eigenständigkeit.

Erleben Sie sich neu in einem Umfeld, fern ab Ihrer sonst vertrauten Studien- und Lebensumgebung.

Nutzen Sie die Chancen, die Ihnen die THI für einen Studienaufenthalt oder ein Praktikum im Ausland bietet. Die THI erweitert dieses Angebot durch kontinuierliche Pflege der Beziehungen zu ausländischen Hochschulen, Firmen, Einrichtungen und Organisationen.

Im International Office unterstützen wir Sie gerne bei der Vorbereitung und Umsetzung Ihres Auslandsaufenthaltes. Entscheidend ist dabei, dass Sie sich mit Eigeninitiative und Engagement gut auf Ihre Reise vorbereiten.

Auf den folgenden Seiten finden Sie Schritt für Schritt alle notwendigen Informationen, die für Ihren Weg ins Ausland hilfreich und nützlich sind.